cropped-cropped-santorini-boat-_oia2.jpg

“In your light I learn how to love.

In your beauty, how to make poems.

You dance inside my chest where no one sees you,

But sometimes I do, and that sight becomes this art.”

– Rumi

Sunset is probably my favorite time of the day.  Partly because I don’t have to wake up early to see it, and partly because it’s watching the Earth slowly shutdown for the night.  Having traveled to a few places, I’ve realized that no two sunsets are the same, and no two locations will leave you feeling the same after experiencing such a beautiful show.

My favorite sunset is seen from the island of Santorini in Greece. I came to Greece to see my best friend after 20 years (to read about this please see Journey to Greece).  But I was drawn to Santorini by all the enchanting blue and white pictures I had seen. Santorini is a very mystical island with an incredible rich history (which will warrant a lot more posts to do it any justice).  The shape of the island provides for three distinct views of a very different sunset over the Aegean Sea.  I was lucky enough to experience two of the most popular, in Fira (Thira) and this one in Oia.  While the one in Fira was amazing in it’s own right, the sunset in Oia literally moved me to tears – a first for me.

If you have seen pictures of Greece, you’ve seen the signature blue and white buildings, and some of the most famous pictures are from the town of Oia in the northern part of Santorini.  That was my initial draw to visit Santorini. When I actually got there I felt like I had stepped into a postcard.  It felt so surreal taking in all the blue and white buildings, through the hilly steps, windmills, and steep cliffs.  I asked for directions on where to see the sunset, and I was told to just walk, and I would find “the spot”.  People were gathered here for hours to scope out a good view, some on steps, some on balconies, some in restaurants, and some on rooftops – a lot with champagne.   There was a perfect moment where a boat was passing through, almost posing in that last ray of sun before it sets for the evening.  This shot couldn’t have been timed better if I tried.  Once the sun started setting, it turned bright red, and melted into the ocean within a couple of minutes.  In a blink of an eye it was dusk. Words and pictures just can’t do justice to this sight. It’s something you have to experience more with your heart than your eyes. The cheers and applauses, followed by popping of champagne corks, seems so subdued for such a spectacular show by nature.

If this isn’t heaven, I’m not sure what is! It’s experiences like this that have changed me in ways I can’t articulate.  Experiencing such magnificence of nature in it’s pure form transforms you.  In that moment, I had somehow connected with something so much larger than me, and the only way the overwhelming emotion can find expression is through tears of awe.
Half-LightDaily Prompt – Vision Transformation

Leave a Reply

